MHRC Graduate Student Fellowship

The MHRC Graduate Student Fellowship is granted to entering second year MSc students who show outstanding research promise, and who do not have another external source of funding (i.e. OGS, Tri-council, or other major funding agency (eg. HSF)).

Application Process

Applications must include:

  • Letter of nomination (reference) from the Supervisor, including verification that no other external Scholarship funding is available to the student for the 2nd year of study,
  • 1 page double spaced abstract of research done and/or to be undertaken, written solely by the student (unedited by the supervisor), and
  • CV of the student.

An MHRC Awards Committee will review the application. Please submit your application electronically to the MHRC Coordinator ( The letter from the supervisor can be sent separately to the same address.

The student will be selected based on the strength of the information provided above. Strong consideration will be given to the apparent future research potential of the student. The MHRC Executive Committee, via the Director, will communicate the results to the student, and will copy Student Financial Services.

Application Deadline:

Award Value

$1000, applied to student fees.  Two awards will be given per year.

Fall 2020 Winners:

2020Mikhaela Slavin

Supervisor: Dr. David A. Hood
Sarah Mosely

Supervisor: Dr. Arthur Cheng

Previous Winners:

2019Simona Yakubov

Supervisor: Dr.Peter Backx

Sam Vasilounis

Supervisor: Dr. Janessa Drake
2018Stephen Mora

Supervisor: Dr. Ola Adegoke

Ardavan Jafari

Supervisor: Dr. Ali Abdul Sater
2017Gagan Mann

Supervisor: Dr. Ola Adegoke

Nemanja Dovijarski

Supervisor: Dr. David Hood
2016Brendon Beatty

Supervisor: Dr. Ola Adegoke
Christopher Hazlett

Supervisor: Dr. Heather Edgell

2015Matthew Triolo

Supervisor: Dr. Michael Connor
Avigail Erlich

Supervisor: Dr. David A. Hood

2014Matthew Crilly

Supervisor: Dr. David A. Hood
Dishay Jiandani

Supervisor: Dr. Jennifer Kuk
2013Trevor Teich

Supervisor: Dr. Michael Riddell

Elnaz Moghimi

Supervisor: Dr. Mazen Hamadeh

2012Alex Green

Supervisor: Dr. David A. Hood
2011Alex Green

Supervisor: Dr. David A. Hood